I Will Be Content

One thing I have found to be true in my journey with Jesus is that contentment is a huge part of my mental wholeness. Contentment is a big word and covers a wide range of subjects, I know, and I’m certainly not an expert on the subject. My lack of expertise notwithstanding, here are some of the basic things I have found that I need to be content with: who I am (my identity as given by God), why I am (knowing I exist for a purpose), when I am (my age, and where I am in time), where I am (actual location), what I am (my status or position in this life), and how I am (acceptance of myself, including my personality and appearance).

As this is a “human” problem, I know that I’m not alone in this struggle to be content. The temptation when we are not content is to long for what others have. Though it always makes us feel bad, comparing ourselves to others can become almost as natural as breathing. We look at someone else and decide that if we just had their looks or their talents or their whatever, then we would be comfortable in our own skin too. We’re assuming those whom we wish to be like are happy and content, but the fact is, there’s a good chance that model or genius or famous person would long for something that we have! In truth, much of this life is just a “covet-fest” and in reality, very few people are content or satisfied with the way God has made them. If this is the case, is it possible that our discontentment is actually at the core of many of our disorders?

What if the solution starts by accepting God’s one-of-a-kind creation that is you? Each of us is God’s masterpiece created and equipped in Christ Jesus to carry out specialized missions for the Kingdom of God. Do we realize that we are in danger of insulting our Maker when we try to be a cookie cutter pattern of somebody else? This verse in Romans 9:20 says it best, “But who are you, O man, to talk back to God? Shall what is formed say to Him who formed it, ‘Why have you made me like this?’” Yikes! That is not the kind of unappreciative attitude that I want to give to my Creator, my Savior, and my Lord.

Still, when I look at my contentment level, I can honestly say that I am content in most of the six areas mentioned above. I find a problem, however, when I look at what I am and how I am.

That being my confession, I now make this declaration:

“I am me and I am unique. I have been gifted by God to walk in the specific “good works” in which He has called me to walk. I probably won’t do things like others and others won’t do things like me. I’m good with that. I have to be good with that. I have been anointed and appointed to certain missions that only I can fulfill in the way God has created me to fulfill them. With the experiences that are mine that have made me who I am, I repent for wishing to be like someone else. Anyone else. I will not wish to not be me. I will, however, strive to be the best me possible without justifying my sin and shortcomings by saying, ‘that’s just the way I am.’

The things that need to change in me, I will strive and seek the Lord to change, but the things that are innately me, I will accept and even embrace.

In how I am (in Jesus), what I am, and what I am not–in this I will be content.”

Thanks so much for reading!

Shalom,
Big D

Leave a Reply

