Mountain-Moving, Devil-Defeating, Victorious-Living EXPLOSIVE FAITH!

Drastic Measures
They are doing a lot of construction around my house right now. There are detours and trucks, dozers, beeping, and dirt-lots of dirt. Our quiet, little town is no longer quiet, and with all the places you can’t drive, it seems to get a little smaller every day. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. I love, love, love where I live, and especially because of what I’m about to tell you. Last week the construction crew ran into a boulder up the hill from me. It stopped progress because it was too big to move in the regular way, so they had to take drastic measures…they reached for the dynamite! I can’t tell you how exciting it was for me to hear that they were going to do this. I basically grew up in the suburbs and have only seen dynamite used on TV or in the movies, so, for me, it was a pretty cool concept to have something blown up (safely and legally) in my vicinity.

That said, I regret that I missed videotaping the event. I only realized it had happened after the fact. That’s not to say that I didn’t hear it. Oh, I heard it alright. It sounded like one of those 17,000 pound backhoes had run smack dab into our house! I poked my head out the window and asked my husband, “What the heck was that?” He informed me that they had just blown up said boulder with dynamite.

Power-Packed Faith
Just moments before the resurrected Jesus ascended up to heaven, He said this to His disciples, “You shall receive power when the Holy Spirit comes upon you, and you shall be my witnesses….” (Acts 1:8) Guess what the Greek word is for “power” in that verse? You guessed it, it’s “dunamis.” That’s right. It’s where we get our word, dynamite from. So, what is Jesus saying to His followers here? I think He’s saying, there are going to be mountains and boulders that you can’t get through by regular means, so I’m giving you a gift that is so powerful, nothing will be able to stop the spread of My Gospel all the way to the ends of the earth!

Making Mountains INTO Mole Hills
The boulders of fear, apathy, insecurity, pride, timidity, doubt, anger, addictions, and the devil can all be overcome by submission to the dynamite (power) that dwells in every believer through the Holy Spirit. When we realize the power that is at our fingertips as Christians, then we can utilize that power to be over comers in this life through faith. It doesn’t matter what size or shape the mountain is that is in our way, there is spiritual dynamite in our toolbox to make any mountain INTO a mole hill!

I’m OVER IT!
As Christians, we no longer have to walk around feeling beat up and drained, depressed and defeated. We have authority to take control of our lives through the power that Jesus has given to us!  It’s high time we stop this foolish tug of war with the enemy. As for me, I’m over it! By the power God has vested in me, I’m over the flesh, the devil, sin, and over ALL the power of the enemy. (Lk. 10:19) Christian, I have good news for you, We have ALREADY WON! Now, let’s blow some things up by declaring and rehearsing God’s truth instead of negotiating with the enemy, and regurgitating his lies.

Not Backing Down & Not Going Around
It’s pretty exciting when you think about it: we can move forward and make progress as the Lord leads. Sometimes we aren’t supposed to change course or go around something that’s in our way spiritually. It could be that the Lord is calling us to pull out that stick of dynamite, “light” the fuse and watch our all-powerful God blow up the plans of the enemy right before our eyes!

A Little Faith Moves Big Things
In Matthew 17:20, the disciples were wondering why they couldn’t cast out a demon. Jesus’ response is all about that faith, “…if you have faith the size of a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible to you.” How much faith does it really take to blow up a mountain?  Well, I guess we’ll just have to start believing God’s Word to experience that Mountain-Moving, Devil-Defeating, Victorious-Living, Explosive Faith!

Thanks so much for reading!

Shalom,
Big D
justholdonbook.com

One Reply to “Mountain-Moving, Devil-Defeating, Victorious-Living EXPLOSIVE FAITH!”

Leave a Reply

