It’s a Drag

“No one can come to Me unless the Father who sent Me draws him; and I will raise him up on the last day.” (John 6:44)

Not long after I became a Christian, someone who was older in the Lord told me that if I was serious about studying the Bible, I would need to get a Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance. This book contains all the words in the Bible, complete with the Hebrew (Old Testament) and Greek (New Testament) definitions of each word. One day a few weeks ago, before our class in John chapter six began, I decided I would look up the Greek meaning for the word “draws” in verse 44. To my utter amazement, the word, “draws” means to “drag.”  I must say, I was not expecting that. My excitement quickly turned to distress as I began to process the word “drag” in my head. Was the Father dragging me to Jesus? Was I kicking and screaming? Ugh.

I wasn’t digging that at all, so I brought it up to the other women who were at the study. We all just kind of lamented this “change” for a few minutes and tried to figure it out. Before I knew it, we had come to a HUGE REVELATION. Are you ready for this? Ok, here it is: It’s like the Father comes down from His throne, runs into a burning building where He finds us unconscious and helpless. He then drags our lifeless body out of the burning building. Perhaps He holds us tightly to His chest as He RESCUES us from certain death! But wait, that’s not all! The Father then GIVES US TO JESUS as a gift. WOW! Isn’t this a beautiful picture of our salvation?

I guess I never thought of it, but “drawing” has connotations that WE have something to do with being saved. But in all reality, we are helpless, spiritually dead sinners that NEED GOD to do EVERYTHING for us. God even supplies us with the faith to believe in the first place. Here’s what the Bible says in Eph. 2:8-9 “For by grace you have been saved through faith; and that not of yourselves, it is the gift of God; not as a result of works, so that no one may boast.”

Just when we thought it couldn’t get any better, Jesus makes this statement in John 6:38, “This is the will of Him who sent Me, that of all that He has given Me I lose nothing, but raise it up on the last day.”

I’m so grateful that I’m not the author of my faith, that I am not responsible to save myself, keep myself saved, or even finish this work. (Eph. 1:6)

Ultimately, my Heavenly Father moved from heaven to earth to drag me from the burning building of sin in order to bring me safely to my Savior.

Coming to Jesus: it’s not so much a draw, IT’S a DRAG!

Shalom to you!

Big D

justholdonbook.com

Leave a Reply

