No Other Shoe

Big D’s Quote of the Day:

“There is ‘no other shoe’ in the Kingdom of God.” The expression, “I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop” from the 1900s alludes to a person awakened by an upstairs neighbor who loudly drops one shoe on the floor. Meanwhile, downstairs, the neighbor is waiting for the other shoe to drop before going back to sleep. It’s the expectation that since something bad has already happened, something worse is on the way. Waiting for the other shoe to drop can also apply to the fear that things are going too well. Among people in our world today, “waiting for the other shoe to drop” is a surprisingly common fear, though largely unexpressed. I have even experienced this phenomenon myself when after eight months of mystery pain, one day I woke up without any pain at all. As abruptly and mysteriously as it had appeared, it disappeared. I found myself reluctant to claim complete healing, however, on the off chance that this thing could come back.

Since I became a Christian, I have not considered myself superstitious, but in regard to my sudden healing I wouldn’t verbalize that I was “completely” healed because deep down I thought that statement would somehow jinx my healing. I didn’t realize what I was doing until I ran into another Christian who also seemed reluctant to shout her healing from the roof tops for fear that the “other shoe” had not yet dropped. She was sure something bad was on the horizon.

Isn’t it strange how we can carry fears and superstitions from our former kingdom of darkness into the Kingdom of Light? I don’t think we do this consciously, but when we start to look at it honestly, we can clearly see the foolishness of it all. God is not a puppet master. He is not a distant, powerful Being that toys with us to watch us squirm in confusion and darkness. No. He is a loving heavenly Father who has our best interests at heart. When we don’t understand, He wants us to ask Him questions. He wants us to believe His answers. He wants us to trust that whatever He is doing, it is for good, not for evil. Let’s put our minds at ease. There is no other shoe that’s going to drop on our heads the minute we finally relax. That’s just not the way God is. I have been learning that when I can’t understand His ways, I need to trust His intentions.

Today I saw this whole scenario play out when I gave Chewy a bath. As I ran the warm water over her little shivering body, I tried to console her, and tell her that we were almost done. I communicated to her all of the benefits of a bath, told her she was a good dog, etc. As she continued to shake and cower with fear (this was not her first rodeo), I reiterated my affection for her and that I would never do anything to hurt her. I told her that my intentions were always good regardless of how the circumstances seemed to her. No matter what I said, she could not be consoled, and this frustrated me in a way. Then it hit me.

Maybe this is the way it is with us and God sometimes…

We are in the middle of a horrendous trial of life, let’s call it a bath. We don’t know what’s going on, there’s water and soap, our eyes are burning, and we can’t breathe. As the trial continues with seemingly no end in sight, the only thing we know is that the greatest authority in the universe seems to be doing this horrible thing to us. Sometimes we hear the faint sound of God’s reassuring voice, but our fear gets the best of us and we can’t see past the immediate problem to believe His promises. I thought to myself, Wow, could this be how God feels when I doubt His intentions for me? I wonder if I actually hurt God when I don’t trust him or believe His Word in the midst of a bad experience. But wait there’s more. After the bath (trial) is over, do I continue my distrust of God’s motivations? Am I subconsciously waiting for the other shoe to drop?

There is no other shoe in the Kingdom of God. Believe that today. Trust God in the good times and in the bad times. His intentions are always good, and His ways are always perfect.

Have a great “no other shoe falling on your head” type of day!

Shalom, Big D

justholdonbook.com

Leave a Reply

