Everyday Should Be Memorial Day

I realize that Memorial Day has passed, but I think EVERYDAY is a good day to remember and honor an American Soldier! So, while we remember the fallen, here is my personal ‘thank you’ to every Veteran and active duty soldier reading this.

Words cannot express my gratitude for your service to our great Country. You have selflessly GIVEN of yourself on so many levels that I will never know. You did it all for the people of the United States of America, most of whom you will never know. You did it out of duty, you did it out of honor, and I want to say thank you.

Whatever price you paid, whatever sacrifices you made, I want you to know that your service was not in vain, and will never be forgotten. I appreciate the FACT that I am living in a free Country TODAY because of what you did yesterday. Thank you.

Even though you did not know me, you went to fight for my freedom. Even before I was born, some were paying dearly for my liberty; and even when I didn’t acknowledge your sacrifices, you still fought to secure my life.

Your service to America reminds me of Jesus’ service to the whole world…

Just as you fought to secure the freedom of American citizens, so did Jesus fight by allowing Himself to be sacrificed on a cross to secure the freedom of all mankind. Two-thousand years ago, before we were born, Jesus paid the ultimate price for us, and that even while we were yet helpless sinners, and not acknowledging His sacrifice for us. Still, today, He is calling out to all people, saying, “I love you, and I purchased your salvation with my own blood!”

These words come from a heart of appreciation and love. You saved my physical life, now I want you to know how to receive life for your eternal soul through Jesus Christ, that is, if you don’t already know Him. If you don’t know Jesus today, would you be willing to grab a Bible and read Romans chapter 10, verses 9-10? These verses will tell you ‘how’ you can begin the journey of salvation by faith-because all of us need the Savior. And I care enough about you to say so.

The Bible says, ‘Greater Love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends.’ (John 15:13)

You did this with your sacrifice on the battle field; Jesus did this with His sacrifice on the cross. You helped to purchase freedom for a Nation for a time; Jesus purchased freedom for the whole world for all time.

At the end of this day, I just want to say, ‘Thank you. I remember and honor your service and sacrifice to our Country and to me.’ If it were up to me (and to some extent it is:)

Everyday would be Memorial Day!!

Shalom,

Big D

justholdonbook.com

Leave a Reply

