Just Because He Lives

Believing in the resurrection of Jesus Christ is essential to becoming a Christian. But what does the resurrection of Jesus mean to you today?”

For me, it started more than thirty years ago when I could barely make it through the day. I was in such despair that I tried to end my days by my own hand. But at the last minute, I cried out to the Lord in desperation, “God, if you’re real, I need you to show me.” That was it. I was never to be the same again!

Now, the chorus of this popular song rings true for me: “Because He lives, I can face tomorrow. Because He lives, all fear is gone. Because I know He holds the future, and life is worth the living just because He lives.” (Gloria Gaither – “Because He Lives”)

Oh, the resurrection of Jesus means freedom, hope, and life to me. The resurrection of Jesus was spiritual CPR for my very soul. As Jesus breathed life into my spiritual lungs, I realized that nothing was impossible with God. I understood that there are no lost causes to God, every soul is valuable, and every life can be redeemed. The resurrection means that no one has gone too far to be saved. If there was someone who was an impossible lost cause that had gone too far, then it might have been me. Jesus, by the power of His resurrection has redeemed my past.

Jesus said, “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. After a little while the world will no longer see Me, but you will see Me; because I live, you will live also.” (John 14:18-19)

As I mentioned earlier, many years ago I didn’t want to live on this earth. But even more serious than that, without Jesus, my eternal destination was in question. Now, through the reality of the resurrection of Jesus Christ, I am overflowing with hope for my eternal tomorrow. Because I have received Jesus as my Lord, when I die, I have the promise of a resurrected body, and an eternity with God. Jesus, by the power of His resurrection, has redeemed my eternal future.

“Because He lives I can face tomorrow, but because He lives in me, I can face today.” DH
As if saving my soul for eternity wasn’t enough, God then came to dwell in me by His Holy Spirit (1 Corinthians 3:16). Today, He empowers me to rise above this world of death through the same Spirit that raised Jesus from the dead (Romans 8:11). He does all this not so that I can barely make it through each day, but to lead me to real victory over every one of life’s battles as I trust Him by faith. I can now live a life of hope and

true faith in the only ONE strong enough to save me and keep me all the way to the end. Facing tomorrow is one thing, but facing today is really all that we know we have. Jesus, by the power of His resurrection, has redeemed my present.

So, why does God save us, and fill us with this incredible strength? Because He wants us to live in the abundant life that Jesus spoke about in John 10:10. There’s a certain joy that comes with knowing and serving Jesus, and that joy spills over onto others. We have now been commissioned as ambassadors of the Kingdom of God (2 Corinthians 5:20), and we are ministers of reconciliation (2 Corinthians 5:18) charged with sharing this hope with a world that doesn’t know what true living really is.

As Christians, we are over-comers by God’s Spirit Who lives within us (1 John 4:4). We are more than conquerors through Jesus Christ Who loves us (Romans 8:37), and we can more than face tomorrow-we can overcome today!

Rejoice in the resurrection of Jesus, sisters and brothers in Christ! Our redemption–past, future, and present–is complete, and all of this Just Because He Lives.

Thanks so much for reading.

Shalom,  Big D

justholdonbook.com

Leave a Reply

